Click to Home

Go To Search
The Roanoke Higher Education Center
The Roanoke Higher Education Center offers over 200 programs of study through the Center’s partner organizations. Averett University, Bluefield College, James Madison University, Hollins University, Mary Baldwin College, Old Dominion University, Radford University, Roanoke College, the University of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Tech, and Virginia Western Community College offer undergraduate and graduate level courses. In addition, TAP - This Valley Works offers job-training programs as a partner in the Center.

In August 2000, the Roanoke Center welcomed its first class of 2,500 students to newly renovated classrooms located in the former headquarters of the Norfolk and Western Railroad in downtown Roanoke. A total of $19 million in state, local and private capital, as well as federal and state historic tax credits, had been used to transform the 1931 Art Deco building into a state-of-the-art facility for learning.

The Center also accommodates the growing corporate training and meeting needs of companies across the region. With more than 57 available classrooms, a 2,100 square-foot meeting room and advanced computer technology and video conferencing facilities, the Center is able to accommodate all types of business gatherings.